Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Sat, 24 Feb 2007 14:12:25 -0500
From:  "Darrell D. Mobley" <dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net>
Subject:  [coba-e:08939] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive
To:  <coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org>
Message-Id:  <005001c75847$b895b610$29c12230$@net>
In-Reply-To:  <!~!UENERkVCMDkAAQACAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAABgAAAAAAAAARDhjVlX2aEuqbKE5moo4BsKAAAAQAAAAQtjic3OcUE+ztx/sj7loZwEAAAAA (at mark) xnet.com.mx>
References:  <11454A42-6DDD-4CFF-9995-DE7E5D516A5B (at mark) kommunity.net> <!~!UENERkVCMDkAAQACAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAABgAAAAAAAAARDhjVlX2aEuqbKE5moo4BsKAAAAQAAAAQtjic3OcUE+ztx/sj7loZwEAAAAA (at mark) xnet.com.mx>
X-Mail-Count: 08939

> Now we get email from hotmail,gmail and msn but dynamic ipaddress
> mailservers are blocked and other (hacked server etc)...

Help me understand this a little better.  When I have run sorbs.net in the
past, I didn't encounter per se blocking of "dynamic ip address
mailservers".  What I encountered was that it blocked mail coming from
dynamic IP address origin.  For example, if I myself sent an email directly
from my Comcast cable Internet connection to my mail server, it would be
rejected because of my dynamic IP address, but mail routed through Comcast's
mail server to my mail server was accepted.  The mail server itself didn't
have a dynamic IP address, the mail was originating from a dynamic IP
address (even though my IP address hasn't changed in almost a year).

Therefore my question is: Is SORBS blocking email based on the mail server
actually having a dynamic IP address or are they blocking people with
dynamic IP addresses from connecting directly to the server or are they
blocking people who have a dynamic IP address as the originating IP address
of the email?



-----Original Message-----
From: Rodrigo Ordonez Licona [mailto:rodrigo (at mark) xnet.com.mx] 
Sent: Saturday, February 24, 2007 11:30 AM
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08938] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive

Thanks just in case someone is interested,


We like the restrictiveness of sorbs(except for hotmail, gmail and msn)

This is what we did:

A)Checked for the existence of the following lines at sendmail.mc 

FEATURE(`delay_checks', `friend')dnl

B)Afterwards we executed the following command as root at /etc/mail

 m4 sendmail.mc > sendmail.cf

C)Then edited the file access at /etc/mail  and added the following lines
below

127.0.0.1                       RELAY
Spam:hotmail.com                FRIEND
Spam:gmail.com                  FRIEND
Spam:msn.com                    FRIEND

D)Afterwards executed as root

 makemap hash access.db < access

E)Then restarted sendmail with

/etc/init.d/sendmail restart


Now we get email from hotmail,gmail and msn but dynamic ipaddress
mailservers are blocked and other (hacked server etc)...


Thanks to everyone

Rodrigo O
Xnet



-----Original Message-----
From: Tom MÍler-Kortkamp [mailto:tmueko (at mark) kommunity.net] 
Sent: SáÃado, 24 de Febrero de 2007 03:48 a.m.
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08937] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive

You have to use "delay_mode" in sendmail, i.e. be something like
FEATURE(`delay_checks',`friend')dnl
(depending on you needs)
Then you can use your access-map with:

Spam:hotmail.com	FRIEND
Spam:hotmail.com	FRIEND

But this is for all Lists ...


(Alternative: FEATURE(`delay_checks',`hater') Spam:<blacklist-domain> HATER

Tom MÌo

Am 24.02.2007 um 01:44 schrieb Rodrigo Ordonez Licona:

> How can I whitelist gmail.com and hotmail.com?
>
> at sendmail.mc level ?
> How could I do this without stepping on my own toes,
>
> without allowing for spammers from gmail and hotmail use us as a 
> relay.
>
> dnsbl.sorbs.net Is too restrictive,... however
>
> ...blocks tons of spam, I wouldn't trust an email server with a 
> dynamic IP address.
>
> But i cant convince my clients to stop using hotmail (...hardly anyone 
> can...).
>
>
> Regards
>
> Rodrigo O
> Xnet
>
>
>
> From: Darrell D. Mobley [mailto:dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net]
> Sent: Viernes, 23 de Febrero de 2007 10:47 a.m.
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08931] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive
>
> Perhaps you can whitelist gmail and hotmail before the sorbs.net 
> entry?  Sorbs.net is ridiculous.  They black list you just for having 
> a dynamic IP address.
>
>
>
> From: Rodrigo Ordonez Licona [mailto:rodrigo (at mark) xnet.com.mx]
> Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 10:04 AM
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08929] Blkacklisting too restrictive
>
>
>
> Hi,
>
>
>
> We have been using this and other blacklists on sendmail.mc >  
> sendmail.cf
>
>
>
> dnl FEATURE(`enhdnsbl',`dnsbl.sorbs.net',`"553 rejected - " $& 
> {client_addr} " found in dnsbl.sorbs.net"', `')dnl
>
>
>
> But sorbs.net seems to be too restrictive...  hotmail servers are  
> easily blacklisted and stay blacklisted for 24 hours or more,
>
> We removed the blacklists but spam flooding began again.
>
> Is there a way to use it and avoid gmail and hotmail getting blocked
>
>
>
> Regards
>
>
>
> Rodrigo O
> Xnet
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> From: Arthur Sherman [mailto:arturs (at mark) netvision.net.il]
> Sent: Viernes, 23 de Febrero de 2007 05:32 a.m.
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08924] Re: website URL rewrite feature?
>
> you could also have a cron script which will remove www periodicaly.
>
>
>
> like this:
>
>
>
> # runs hourly & removes hostname from virtusertable
>
> perl -pi -e "s/www\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable
>
> perl -pi -e "s/ns1\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable
>
> perl -pi -e "s/ns2\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable
>
> makemap hash /etc/mail/virtusertable.db < /etc/mail/virtusertable
>
>
>
>
>
> Best,
>
> --
> Arthur Sherman
>
> +972-52-4878851
> CPTeam
>
>
>
>
>
> From: Darrell D. Mobley [mailto:dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net]
> Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 10:16 AM
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08923] Re: website URL rewrite feature?
>
> If you enter $BEX(Bebgander.com” as an email server alias for  
> $BEX(Bww.webgander.com” then the majordomo lists will work like you  
> want them to.  list (at mark) webgander.com will work the same as  
> list (at mark) www.webgander.com.
>
>
>
>
>
> From: Ramon Alonso [mailto:ramon (at mark) osnola.com]
> Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 12:23 AM
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08922] Re: website URL rewrite feature?
>
>
>
> That seem to work.  The only problem is that my domains mail list ,  
> majordomo, doesn't create the /etc/mail/virtusertable correctly.   
> All the domains have www. prepended to it.  i.e.  
> list (at mark) www.webgander.com
>
> Is there a fix?
>
> On Wed, 21 Feb 2007 05:16:02 -0800, Ramon Alonso wrote
> > Thank you Bill. I'll give that a try.
> >
> > On Tue, 20 Feb 2007 20:17:17 -0600, William J.A. Brillinger wrote
> > > hostname = www
> > > domain = webgander.com
> > > alias = webgander.com
> > >
> > > ... the above change will solve your problem.
> > >
> > > Cheers,
> > > - Bill
> > >
> > > At 07:48 PM 2/20/2007, you wrote:
> > >
>
> I'm new to BQ. So if this has been asked before, I apologize.
> > >
> > > I have a new site with the following settings...
> > >
> > > hostname=webgander, domain=com
> > > web alias= www.webgander.com
> > >
> > > When I visit the site http://www.webgander.com, it rewrites the  
> URL to
> > > MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from  
> "webgander.com." claiming to be http://webgander.com. How do I stop  
> this from happening. I want email SMTP
> > > and majordomo lists to use the webgander.com FQDN. I want all HTTP
> > > references to use MailScanner has detected a possible fraud  
> attempt from "www.webgander.com." claiming to be www.webgander.com.
> > >
> > > Any clues comrades?
> > >
> > > --
> > > This message has been scanned for viruses and
> > > dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> > > believed to be clean.
>
>
> > >
> > > ---------------------------------
> > > William J.A. Brillinger
> > > Precision Design Co.
> > >
> > > E-Mail: mailto:billy (at mark) pdcweb.net
> > > Web site: MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt  
> from "www.pdcweb.net" claiming to behttp://www.pdcweb.net
> > > Phone: (204) 327-5524
> > >
> > > --
> > > This message has been scanned for viruses and
> > > dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> > > believed to be clean.
> >
> >
> > --
> > This message has been scanned for viruses and
> > dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> > believed to be clean.
>
>
> -- 
> This message has been scanned for viruses and
> dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> believed to be clean.
>
>

--
kommunity GmbH & Co.KG
Goseriede 4, D-30159 Hannover
------------
Phone +49 (0)5 11 - 80 72 58 - 0
Fax +49 (0)5 11 - 80 72 58 - 10
------------
Sitz der Gesellschaft: Hannover,
Registergericht: Amtsgericht Hannover,
Handelsregisternummer HRA 26721


PersÏlich haftende Gesellschafterin:
kommunity Verwaltungsgesellschaft mbH
vertreten durch den GeschçÇtsfÉrer
Tom MÍler-Kortkamp
Sitz der Gesellschaft: Hannover,
Registergericht: Amtsgericht Hannover,
Registernummer HRB 60200