Thanks just in case someone is interested,
We like the restrictiveness of sorbs(except for hotmail, gmail and msn)
This is what we did:
A)Checked for the existence of the following lines at sendmail.mc
FEATURE(`delay_checks', `friend')dnl
B)Afterwards we executed the following command as root at /etc/mail
m4 sendmail.mc > sendmail.cf
C)Then edited the file access at /etc/mail and added the following lines
below
127.0.0.1 RELAY
Spam:hotmail.com FRIEND
Spam:gmail.com FRIEND
Spam:msn.com FRIEND
D)Afterwards executed as root
makemap hash access.db < access
E)Then restarted sendmail with
/etc/init.d/sendmail restart
Now we get email from hotmail,gmail and msn but dynamic ipaddress
mailservers are blocked and other (hacked server etc)...
Thanks to everyone
Rodrigo O
Xnet
-----Original Message-----
From: Tom MÍler-Kortkamp [mailto:tmueko (at mark) kommunity.net]
Sent: SáÃado, 24 de Febrero de 2007 03:48 a.m.
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08937] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive
You have to use "delay_mode" in sendmail, i.e. be something like
FEATURE(`delay_checks',`friend')dnl
(depending on you needs)
Then you can use your access-map with:
Spam:hotmail.com FRIEND
Spam:hotmail.com FRIEND
But this is for all Lists ...
(Alternative: FEATURE(`delay_checks',`hater') Spam:<blacklist-domain> HATER
Tom MÌo
Am 24.02.2007 um 01:44 schrieb Rodrigo Ordonez Licona:
> How can I whitelist gmail.com and hotmail.com?
>
> at sendmail.mc level ?
> How could I do this without stepping on my own toes,
>
> without allowing for spammers from gmail and hotmail use us as a
> relay.
>
> dnsbl.sorbs.net Is too restrictive,... however
>
> ...blocks tons of spam, I wouldn't trust an email server with a
> dynamic IP address.
>
> But i cant convince my clients to stop using hotmail (...hardly anyone
> can...).
>
>
> Regards
>
> Rodrigo O
> Xnet
>
>
>
> From: Darrell D. Mobley [mailto:dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net]
> Sent: Viernes, 23 de Febrero de 2007 10:47 a.m.
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08931] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive
>
> Perhaps you can whitelist gmail and hotmail before the sorbs.net
> entry? Sorbs.net is ridiculous. They black list you just for having
> a dynamic IP address.
>
>
>
> From: Rodrigo Ordonez Licona [mailto:rodrigo (at mark) xnet.com.mx]
> Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 10:04 AM
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08929] Blkacklisting too restrictive
>
>
>
> Hi,
>
>
>
> We have been using this and other blacklists on sendmail.mc >
> sendmail.cf
>
>
>
> dnl FEATURE(`enhdnsbl',`dnsbl.sorbs.net',`"553 rejected - " $&
> {client_addr} " found in dnsbl.sorbs.net"', `')dnl
>
>
>
> But sorbs.net seems to be too restrictive... hotmail servers are
> easily blacklisted and stay blacklisted for 24 hours or more,
>
> We removed the blacklists but spam flooding began again.
>
> Is there a way to use it and avoid gmail and hotmail getting blocked
>
>
>
> Regards
>
>
>
> Rodrigo O
> Xnet
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> From: Arthur Sherman [mailto:arturs (at mark) netvision.net.il]
> Sent: Viernes, 23 de Febrero de 2007 05:32 a.m.
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08924] Re: website URL rewrite feature?
>
> you could also have a cron script which will remove www periodicaly.
>
>
>
> like this:
>
>
>
> # runs hourly & removes hostname from virtusertable
>
> perl -pi -e "s/www\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable
>
> perl -pi -e "s/ns1\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable
>
> perl -pi -e "s/ns2\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable
>
> makemap hash /etc/mail/virtusertable.db < /etc/mail/virtusertable
>
>
>
>
>
> Best,
>
> --
> Arthur Sherman
>
> +972-52-4878851
> CPTeam
>
>
>
>
>
> From: Darrell D. Mobley [mailto:dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net]
> Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 10:16 AM
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08923] Re: website URL rewrite feature?
>
> If you enter $BEX(Bebgander.com” as an email server alias for
> $BEX(Bww.webgander.com” then the majordomo lists will work like you
> want them to. list (at mark) webgander.com will work the same as
> list (at mark) www.webgander.com.
>
>
>
>
>
> From: Ramon Alonso [mailto:ramon (at mark) osnola.com]
> Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 12:23 AM
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:08922] Re: website URL rewrite feature?
>
>
>
> That seem to work. The only problem is that my domains mail list ,
> majordomo, doesn't create the /etc/mail/virtusertable correctly.
> All the domains have www. prepended to it. i.e.
> list (at mark) www.webgander.com
>
> Is there a fix?
>
> On Wed, 21 Feb 2007 05:16:02 -0800, Ramon Alonso wrote
> > Thank you Bill. I'll give that a try.
> >
> > On Tue, 20 Feb 2007 20:17:17 -0600, William J.A. Brillinger wrote
> > > hostname = www
> > > domain = webgander.com
> > > alias = webgander.com
> > >
> > > ... the above change will solve your problem.
> > >
> > > Cheers,
> > > - Bill
> > >
> > > At 07:48 PM 2/20/2007, you wrote:
> > >
>
> I'm new to BQ. So if this has been asked before, I apologize.
> > >
> > > I have a new site with the following settings...
> > >
> > > hostname=webgander, domain=com
> > > web alias= www.webgander.com
> > >
> > > When I visit the site http://www.webgander.com, it rewrites the
> URL to
> > > MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from
> "webgander.com." claiming to be http://webgander.com. How do I stop
> this from happening. I want email SMTP
> > > and majordomo lists to use the webgander.com FQDN. I want all HTTP
> > > references to use MailScanner has detected a possible fraud
> attempt from "www.webgander.com." claiming to be www.webgander.com.
> > >
> > > Any clues comrades?
> > >
> > > --
> > > This message has been scanned for viruses and
> > > dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> > > believed to be clean.
>
>
> > >
> > > ---------------------------------
> > > William J.A. Brillinger
> > > Precision Design Co.
> > >
> > > E-Mail: mailto:billy (at mark) pdcweb.net
> > > Web site: MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt
> from "www.pdcweb.net" claiming to behttp://www.pdcweb.net
> > > Phone: (204) 327-5524
> > >
> > > --
> > > This message has been scanned for viruses and
> > > dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> > > believed to be clean.
> >
> >
> > --
> > This message has been scanned for viruses and
> > dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> > believed to be clean.
>
>
> --
> This message has been scanned for viruses and
> dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> believed to be clean.
>
>
--
kommunity GmbH & Co.KG
Goseriede 4, D-30159 Hannover
------------
Phone +49 (0)5 11 - 80 72 58 - 0
Fax +49 (0)5 11 - 80 72 58 - 10
------------
Sitz der Gesellschaft: Hannover,
Registergericht: Amtsgericht Hannover,
Handelsregisternummer HRA 26721
PersÏlich haftende Gesellschafterin:
kommunity Verwaltungsgesellschaft mbH
vertreten durch den GeschçÇtsfÉrer
Tom MÍler-Kortkamp
Sitz der Gesellschaft: Hannover,
Registergericht: Amtsgericht Hannover,
Registernummer HRB 60200