Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Fri, 23 Feb 2007 22:02:16 -0500
From:  "Darrell D. Mobley" <dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net>
Subject:  [coba-e:08936] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive
To:  <coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org>
Message-Id:  <002101c757c0$30d066d0$92713470$@net>
In-Reply-To:  <!~!UENERkVCMDkAAQACAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAABgAAAAAAAAARDhjVlX2aEuqbKE5moo4BsKAAAAQAAAAOr3eUSbF30qJY0F8u2ryRwEAAAAA (at mark) xnet.com.mx>
References:  <007401c75772$aff6e4f0$0fe4aed0$ (at mark) net> <!~!UENERkVCMDkAAQACAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAABgAAAAAAAAARDhjVlX2aEuqbKE5moo4BsKAAAAQAAAAOr3eUSbF30qJY0F8u2ryRwEAAAAA (at mark) xnet.com.mx>
X-Mail-Count: 08936

Sorbs.net blocks mail that originates from dynamic IP addresses.  Given that
95% of cable, DSL and dialup originates on dynamic IPs, it makes sorbs.net a
bit restrictive.

 

From: Rodrigo Ordonez Licona [mailto:rodrigo (at mark) xnet.com.mx] 
Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 7:44 PM
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08935] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive

 

How can I whitelist gmail.com and hotmail.com?

at sendmail.mc level ? 

How could I do this without stepping on my own toes, 

without allowing for spammers from gmail and hotmail use us as a relay.

dnsbl.sorbs.net Is too restrictive,... however 

 

...blocks tons of spam, I wouldn't trust an email server with a dynamic IP
address.

But i cant convince my clients to stop using hotmail (...hardly anyone
can...).


Regards

 

Rodrigo O

Xnet

 

 

  _____  

From: Darrell D. Mobley [mailto:dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net] 
Sent: Viernes, 23 de Febrero de 2007 10:47 a.m.
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08931] Re: Blkacklisting too restrictive

Perhaps you can whitelist gmail and hotmail before the sorbs.net entry?
Sorbs.net is ridiculous.  They black list you just for having a dynamic IP
address.

 

From: Rodrigo Ordonez Licona [mailto:rodrigo (at mark) xnet.com.mx] 
Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 10:04 AM
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08929] Blkacklisting too restrictive

 

Hi,

 

We have been using this and other blacklists on sendmail.mc > sendmail.cf

 

dnl FEATURE(`enhdnsbl',`dnsbl.sorbs.net',`"553 rejected - " $&{client_addr}
" found in dnsbl.sorbs.net"', `')dnl

 

But sorbs.net seems to be too restrictive...  hotmail servers are easily
blacklisted and stay blacklisted for 24 hours or more,

We removed the blacklists but spam flooding began again.

Is there a way to use it and avoid gmail and hotmail getting blocked

 

Regards

 

Rodrigo O
Xnet

 

 

 

  _____  

From: Arthur Sherman [mailto:arturs (at mark) netvision.net.il] 
Sent: Viernes, 23 de Febrero de 2007 05:32 a.m.
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08924] Re: website URL rewrite feature?

you could also have a cron script which will remove www periodicaly.

 

like this:

 

# runs hourly & removes hostname from virtusertable

perl -pi -e "s/www\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable

perl -pi -e "s/ns1\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable

perl -pi -e "s/ns2\.//g" /etc/mail/virtusertable

makemap hash /etc/mail/virtusertable.db < /etc/mail/virtusertable

 

 

Best,

--
Arthur Sherman

+972-52-4878851
CPTeam 

 

 

  _____  

From: Darrell D. Mobley [mailto:dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net] 
Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 10:16 AM
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08923] Re: website URL rewrite feature?

If you enter "webgander.com" as an email server alias for
"www.webgander.com" then the majordomo lists will work like you want them
to.  list (at mark) webgander.com will work the same as list (at mark) www.webgander.com.

 

 

From: Ramon Alonso [mailto:ramon (at mark) osnola.com] 
Sent: Friday, February 23, 2007 12:23 AM
To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Subject: [coba-e:08922] Re: website URL rewrite feature?

 

That seem to work.  The only problem is that my domains mail list ,
majordomo, doesn't create the /etc/mail/virtusertable correctly.  All the
domains have www. prepended to it.  i.e. list (at mark) www.webgander.com 

Is there a fix? 

On Wed, 21 Feb 2007 05:16:02 -0800, Ramon Alonso wrote 
> Thank you Bill. I'll give that a try. 
> 
> On Tue, 20 Feb 2007 20:17:17 -0600, William J.A. Brillinger wrote 
> > hostname = www 
> > domain = webgander.com 
> > alias = webgander.com 
> > 
> > ... the above change will solve your problem. 
> > 
> > Cheers, 
> > - Bill 
> > 
> > At 07:48 PM 2/20/2007, you wrote: 
> > 

I'm new to BQ. So if this has been asked before, I apologize. 
> > 
> > I have a new site with the following settings... 
> > 
> > hostname=webgander, domain=com 
> > web alias= www.webgander.com <http://www.webgander.com/>  
> > 
> > When I visit the site http://www.webgander.com
<http://www.webgander.com/> , it rewrites the URL to 
> >  <http://webgander.com.%20/> MailScanner has detected a possible fraud
attempt from "webgander.com." claiming to be http://webgander.com. How do I
stop this from happening. I want email SMTP 
> > and majordomo lists to use the webgander.com FQDN. I want all HTTP 
> > references to use  <http://www.webgander.com.%20/> MailScanner has
detected a possible fraud attempt from "www.webgander.com." claiming to be
www.webgander.com. 
> > 
> > Any clues comrades? 
> > 
> > -- 
> > This message has been scanned for viruses and 
> > dangerous content by MailScanner, and is 
> > believed to be clean.


> > 
> > --------------------------------- 
> > William J.A. Brillinger 
> > Precision Design Co. 
> > 
> > E-Mail: mailto:billy (at mark) pdcweb.net 
> > Web site:  <http://www.pdcweb.net/> MailScanner has detected a possible
fraud attempt from "www.pdcweb.net" claiming to be http://www.pdcweb.net 
> > Phone: (204) 327-5524 
> > 
> > -- 
> > This message has been scanned for viruses and 
> > dangerous content by MailScanner <http://www.mailscanner.info/> , and is

> > believed to be clean. 
> 
> 
> -- 
> This message has been scanned for viruses and 
> dangerous content by MailScanner <http://www.mailscanner.info/> , and is 
> believed to be clean. 


-- 
This message has been scanned for viruses and 
dangerous content by  <http://www.mailscanner.info/> MailScanner, and is 
believed to be clean. 


	

8936_2.html (attatchment)(tag is disabled)