Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Fri, 12 May 2006 22:17:58 -0400
From:  "Darrell D. Mobley" <dmobley (at mark) uhostme.net>
Subject:  [coba-e:05140] DNS Report Warning
To:  <coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org>
Message-Id:  <000e01c67633$73feb5c0$6400a8c0@COMPUTER8SD7ER2>
In-Reply-To:  <002401c6761d$e05ba770$6400a8c0@COMPUTER8SD7ER2>
X-Mail-Count: 05140

On my BQ machine, I have it set up with the main site UHOSTME.NET using the
primary IP address 216.130.248.50.  I have another site UHOSTME.COM set up
using IP address 216.130.248.51.  When I check UHOSTME.COM at DNSREPORT.COM,
I get a warning that the mailserver at 216.130.248.51 is not UHOSTME.COM,
but is UHOSTME.NET, the main website.  Apparently, it appears to me that the
BQ machine assigns the main site name (and server's name) to all of the IP
addresses on the server.  According to DNSREPORT.COM, this is a technical
violation of RFC821.  Is this a cause for concern?

 

http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=uhostme.com

 

"Mail server host name in greeting

 

WARNING: One or more of your mailservers is claiming to be a host other than
what it really is (the SMTP greeting should be a 3-digit code, followed by a
space or a dash, then the host name). If your mailserver sends out E-mail
using this domain in its EHLO or HELO, your E-mail might get blocked by
anti-spam software. This is also a technical violation of RFC821
<http://www.DNSstuff.com/pages/rfc821.htm>  4.3 (and RFC2821
<http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/rfc.ch?detail=2821>  4.3.1). Note that the
hostname given in the SMTP greeting should have an A record pointing back to
the same server. Note that this one test may use a cached DNS record.

www.uhostme.com claims to be host www.uhostme.net [but that host is at
216.130.248.50 (may be cached), not 216.130.248.51]."


	

5140_2.html (attatchment)