Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Mon, 8 May 2006 17:12:36 -0700
From:  dnk <mailinglists (at mark) backbonetechnology.com>
Subject:  [coba-e:05101] Re: relaying denied
To:  coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Message-Id:  <F1A7154D-6FF0-4E2E-8426-2CA904706981 (at mark) backbonetechnology.com>
In-Reply-To:  <445FCCB2.20305 (at mark) monostar.net>
References:  <005d01c672d3$1ceae5a0$6400a8c0 (at mark) COMPUTER8SD7ER2> <B29F6EFD-B990-4593-A9F3-0754755374D9 (at mark) backbonetechnology.com> <003a01c672e2$f738ada0$6500a8c0 (at mark) OfficeKen> <408F3161-C4AC-4923-8C99-5C9A9BA731E8 (at mark) backbonetechnology.com> <445FCCB2.20305 (at mark) monostar.net>
X-Mail-Count: 05101

Tried that earlier - never solved the issue.


On 8-May-06, at 3:56 PM, Kristian Eklund wrote:

> Have you tried just adding your domain as allowed domains in  
> relaying? I
> had problems with one of my domains (Relaying denied) and I just  
> put the
> domain in the Relaying field and it worked..
>
> /Kristian
>
> dnk wrote:
>> Ok - made that change, and now i am getting a different error:
>>
>> said: 554 5.0.0
>>     rewrite: excessive recursion (max 50), ruleset canonify (in  
>> reply to
>> RCPT
>>     TO command)
>>
>> I am going to detail my setup a little more here so that maybe  
>> something
>> might stand out to you guys. I have used a raq4 before, and maybe  
>> that
>> is why I am having issues (assuming certain things function the  
>> same).
>>
>> DNS is on another server, but that DNS server is listed as a DNS  
>> server
>> in the TCP IP settings as the manual states you need.
>>
>>>> SERVER MANAGEMENT
>>
>> NETWORK SERVICES
>> (email)-> basic tab
>> Enable SMTP Server = checked
>> Enable IMAP Server = unchecked
>> Enable POP Server = checked
>> (email)-> advanced tab
>> Only custom entry here is under:
>> ":Relay Email From Hosts/Domains/IP Addresses (optional)"
>>
>> And in there i have the PUBLIC ip of the server (no external  
>> Firewall).
>>
>>
>>>> SITE MANAGEMENT
>>
>> GENERAL SETTINGS
>> host: www
>> domain: dom.com
>>
>> SERVICES
>> (web)
>> Web Server Alias:
>> dom.com
>> anotherhost.dom.com
>> (email)
>> Email Server Alias:
>> dom.com
>> www.dom.com
>> anotherhost.dom.com
>>
>>
>> The email address is to one user where his account forwards to an
>> external address.
>>
>> All users fail on this box though.
>>
>>
>> Ideas?
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> On 8-May-06, at 2:04 PM, Ken Marcus - Precision Web Hosting, Inc.  
>> wrote:
>>
>>>
>>>> I am not actually trying to relay anything through it. All I am
>>>> trying to do is send email to a user on that machine. However one
>>>> thing to note is that the user id is setup to forward to an  
>>>> external
>>>> email address.
>>>>
>>>> I added the machines internal IP to allow relay, however I still  
>>>> get
>>>> shut down. We are using an external DNS server, but i did add that
>>>> DNS server to the regular TCP IP settings as well (as the manual
>>>> states to do).
>>>>
>>>> Dustin
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> On 8-May-06, at 12:10 PM, Darrell D. Mobley wrote:
>>>>
>>>>> If you are trying to send mail out through the BQ machine, the
>>>>> hostname of
>>>>> the ISP you are using to connect to the BQ machine must be  
>>>>> included in
>>>>> "Relay Email From Hosts/Domains/IP Addresses" of the BQ control
>>>>> panel. Go
>>>>> to "Server Management -> Network Services -> Email" and click  
>>>>> on the
>>>>> "Advanced" tab.  Under "Relay Email From Hosts/Domains/IP
>>>>> Addresses", enter
>>>>> your ISP's domain name or your IP address there.
>>>>>
>>>>> -----Original Message-----
>>>>> From: dnk [mailto:mailinglists (at mark) backbonetechnology.com]
>>>>> Sent: Monday, May 08, 2006 1:40 PM
>>>>> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
>>>>> Subject: [coba-e:05090] relaying denied
>>>>>
>>>>> Hi there - pretty new to Blue Quartz, and I was wondering....
>>>>>
>>>>> I have a domain setup, and for some reason when i try to send  
>>>>> one of
>>>>> the users an email i get a bounce back that says:
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> said: 550 5.7.1
>>>>> .. Relaying denied (in reply to RCPT TO command)
>>>>>
>>>>> I am not sure why this would happen. I did some googling, but  
>>>>> finding
>>>>> reference to this error in BQ (as opposed to just sendmail) has
>>>>> proven difficult.
>>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>> From their siteadmin area, make sure you have their
>>>> "theirdomain.com" and
>>> "mail.theirdomain.com" added as  "Valid mail server aliases".
>>>
>>>
>>> ----
>>> Ken Marcus
>>> Precision Web Hosting, Inc.
>>> http://www.precisionweb.net
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>>
>> --This message has been scanned for viruses and
>> dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
>> believed to be clean.
>>
>>
>