Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Tue, 09 May 2006 00:56:50 +0200
From:  Kristian Eklund <kristian.eklund (at mark) monostar.net>
Subject:  [coba-e:05099] Re: relaying denied
To:  coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Message-Id:  <445FCCB2.20305 (at mark) monostar.net>
In-Reply-To:  <408F3161-C4AC-4923-8C99-5C9A9BA731E8 (at mark) backbonetechnology.com>
References:  <005d01c672d3$1ceae5a0$6400a8c0 (at mark) COMPUTER8SD7ER2> <B29F6EFD-B990-4593-A9F3-0754755374D9 (at mark) backbonetechnology.com> <003a01c672e2$f738ada0$6500a8c0 (at mark) OfficeKen> <408F3161-C4AC-4923-8C99-5C9A9BA731E8 (at mark) backbonetechnology.com>
X-Mail-Count: 05099

Have you tried just adding your domain as allowed domains in relaying? I
had problems with one of my domains (Relaying denied) and I just put the
domain in the Relaying field and it worked..

/Kristian

dnk wrote:
> Ok - made that change, and now i am getting a different error:
> 
> said: 554 5.0.0
>     rewrite: excessive recursion (max 50), ruleset canonify (in reply to
> RCPT
>     TO command)
> 
> I am going to detail my setup a little more here so that maybe something
> might stand out to you guys. I have used a raq4 before, and maybe that
> is why I am having issues (assuming certain things function the same).
> 
> DNS is on another server, but that DNS server is listed as a DNS server
> in the TCP IP settings as the manual states you need.
> 
>>>SERVER MANAGEMENT
> 
> NETWORK SERVICES
> (email)-> basic tab
> Enable SMTP Server = checked
> Enable IMAP Server = unchecked
> Enable POP Server = checked
> (email)-> advanced tab
> Only custom entry here is under:
> ":Relay Email From Hosts/Domains/IP Addresses (optional)"
> 
> And in there i have the PUBLIC ip of the server (no external Firewall).
> 
> 
>>>SITE MANAGEMENT
> 
> GENERAL SETTINGS
> host: www
> domain: dom.com
> 
> SERVICES
> (web)
> Web Server Alias:
> dom.com
> anotherhost.dom.com
> (email)
> Email Server Alias:
> dom.com
> www.dom.com
> anotherhost.dom.com
> 
> 
> The email address is to one user where his account forwards to an
> external address.
> 
> All users fail on this box though.
> 
> 
> Ideas?
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> On 8-May-06, at 2:04 PM, Ken Marcus - Precision Web Hosting, Inc. wrote:
> 
>>
>>> I am not actually trying to relay anything through it. All I am
>>> trying to do is send email to a user on that machine. However one 
>>> thing to note is that the user id is setup to forward to an external 
>>> email address.
>>>
>>> I added the machines internal IP to allow relay, however I still get 
>>> shut down. We are using an external DNS server, but i did add that 
>>> DNS server to the regular TCP IP settings as well (as the manual 
>>> states to do).
>>>
>>> Dustin
>>>
>>>
>>> On 8-May-06, at 12:10 PM, Darrell D. Mobley wrote:
>>>
>>>> If you are trying to send mail out through the BQ machine, the 
>>>> hostname of
>>>> the ISP you are using to connect to the BQ machine must be included in
>>>> "Relay Email From Hosts/Domains/IP Addresses" of the BQ control 
>>>> panel. Go
>>>> to "Server Management -> Network Services -> Email" and click on the
>>>> "Advanced" tab.  Under "Relay Email From Hosts/Domains/IP 
>>>> Addresses", enter
>>>> your ISP's domain name or your IP address there.
>>>>
>>>> -----Original Message-----
>>>> From: dnk [mailto:mailinglists (at mark) backbonetechnology.com]
>>>> Sent: Monday, May 08, 2006 1:40 PM
>>>> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
>>>> Subject: [coba-e:05090] relaying denied
>>>>
>>>> Hi there - pretty new to Blue Quartz, and I was wondering....
>>>>
>>>> I have a domain setup, and for some reason when i try to send one of
>>>> the users an email i get a bounce back that says:
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> said: 550 5.7.1
>>>> .. Relaying denied (in reply to RCPT TO command)
>>>>
>>>> I am not sure why this would happen. I did some googling, but finding
>>>> reference to this error in BQ (as opposed to just sendmail) has
>>>> proven difficult.
>>>>
>>
>>
>>> From their siteadmin area, make sure you have their 
>>> "theirdomain.com" and
>> "mail.theirdomain.com" added as  "Valid mail server aliases".
>>
>>
>> ----
>> Ken Marcus
>> Precision Web Hosting, Inc.
>> http://www.precisionweb.net
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
> 
> 
> 
> --This message has been scanned for viruses and
> dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> believed to be clean.
> 
>