Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Sat, 5 Dec 2009 18:53:30 -0800
From:  "Ken Marcus - Precision Web Hosting, Inc" <kenlists (at mark) precisionweb.net>
Subject:  [coba-e:16184] Re: No such user here
To:  <coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org>
Message-Id:  <E3620A44C8D743518E617D88E30F61CF@KenMarcusPC>
In-Reply-To:  <026f01ca75f6$a20ee450$4001a8c0@Maxwell>
References:  <026f01ca75f6$a20ee450$4001a8c0@Maxwell>
X-Mail-Count: 16184

----- Original Message ----- From: Andrew Danneffel To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org Sent: Saturday, December 05, 2009 2:02 PMSubject: [coba-e:16179] No such user hereHi there,My Blue Quartz server is constantly being hammered with email to users =that do not exist on the server (I believe they are referred to NDRs).  =The maillog lists thousands and thousands of these "No such user here" =errors each day.  Strangely the vast majority of them are to two =domains, each which start with "a".  I don't believe the server is =automatically sending out responses to these senders as this has been =happening for some time and the server is not blacklisted from what I =can see.  I understand that these messages are from spammers and that =the sender email addresses are spoofed.I am wondering what (if anything) can be done to prevent the server from =processing and logging all of these useless messages.  I suspect all of =these mail requests are generating significant data transfer.  Is it =simply a fact of life or can some component of the mail system be =optimized to stop it? Thanks,Andrew<<AndrewProbably those emails coming from known spammers that would be stopped =by a blacklist in your sendmail.cfFind the IP address, then check http://www.dnsstuff.com/toolsIf they would be blocked, then simply add the blacklist that would stop =the emails.----Ken MarcusEcommerce Web Hosting byPrecision Web Hosting, Inc.http://www.precisionweb.net
	

16184_2.html (attatchment)(tag is disabled)