Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Mon, 29 Jun 2009 16:18:00 -0800
From:  Jim Dory <jdory (at mark) nomealaska.org>
Subject:  [coba-e:15755] Re: spam problem w/ email - hope not serious
To:  coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Message-Id:  <4A4959B8.1060101 (at mark) nomealaska.org>
In-Reply-To:  <200906300129.52771.bq (at mark) solarspeed.net>
References:  <4A494565.3040805 (at mark) nomealaska.org> <200906300129.52771.bq (at mark) solarspeed.net>
X-Mail-Count: 15755

Michael Stauber wrote:
> Hi Jim,
>
>   
>> I just started getting this error returned as a Returned mail from our
>> server's "Mail_delivery_subsytem<MAILER-DAEMON (at mark) srv1.nomecity.org> and I
>> don't know about one of our users jenns (at mark) nomealaska.org with
>> jenns@localhost being used like it is, plus the line "jenns set sender
>> to <jdory (at mark) nomealaska.org> using -f " which I see a lot in our maillog
>> also with other email addresses set sender to from same user.
>>     
>
> Most likely a PHP script owned by user "jens" is sending those emails.
>
> To find out which files that may be you can use several methods:
>
> Find all filesin /home/.sites/ owned by user "jens":
>
> 	find /home/.sites/ -user jens
>
> Go to the home directory of that user and then check what site that is: 
>
> 	cd ~jens | pwd | cut -d / -f5
>
> That will report back something like "site2". To then find out the site's FQDN 
> do this:
>
> 	ls -la /home/sites/ | grep site2
>
>   
This particular user is on vacation and has her webmail personal info 
set to forward her email to a hotmail account. Otherwise I see nothing 
unusual but I may be missing something.. /jd

-- 
Jim Dory
Engineering
City of Nome
PO Box 281
102 Division St.
Nome, AK 99762
907.443.6604

http://www.nomealaska.org


-- 
This message has been scanned for viruses and
dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
believed to be clean.