Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Tue, 23 Jun 2009 19:45:07 -0800
From:  Greg Schiedler <greg (at mark) limo.net>
Subject:  [coba-e:15722] Re: barracuda bounce-backs and blocking
To:  coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Message-Id:  <c25647210906232045r1e1fb135v5b9f101ef30f470b (at mark) mail.gmail.com>
In-Reply-To:  <4A417EBE.6020505 (at mark) virtbiz.com>
References:  <20090624000844.M44538 (at mark) domain-nameit.net>	 <4A417EBE.6020505 (at mark) virtbiz.com>
X-Mail-Count: 15722

Have you done your homework and have a proper SPF record that includes the
source IP of the host as a legitimate source IP address for the mail in
question.  You have to take into account if your going to relay/forward the
a Cuda you need to specify both the host origin of the mail and also the
Cuda as possible sources.

Greg :-)

On Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 5:17 PM, Chris Gebhardt - VIRTBIZ Internet <
cobaltfacts (at mark) virtbiz.com> wrote:

> Kenneth Allan wrote:
>
>> Hi Blues,
>>
>> I'm seeing a lot of email bounce-backs that are being caused by Barracuda
>> at off-sites.
>>
>> I've narrowed it down to our local vsites that are forwarding their email
>> to off-sites
>> that use barracuda.
>>
>> The off-site sees forwarded spam coming from our IP addresses and is
>> blocking and
>> reporting our IP addresses as a spammer.
>>
>> Since we host a lot of shared IP vsites, this is getting out of hand
>> quickly.
>>
>> Now barracuda wants us to pay $20 per email address to emailreg to remove
>> their blocks!
>>
>> Frankly, this certainly does have the smell of a scam on the part of
>> barracuda and emailreg.
>>
>> Is anyone else having this same problem???
>>
>
> Hi Kenneth,
> Have you actually had some correspondence w/ Barracuda?    Or did you
> request removal?
>
> Of course, being that you appear to have a /25 carved out of a Covad range
> (so there are other DSL/T1 customers on there) it's certainly possible,
> perhaps likely, that you're being affected by your neighbors.
>
> I personally find the Barracuda to be the lazy admin's way to "spam filter"
> and I don't think highly of the devices.  But I will say that anytime I have
> dealt with their admins for their own RBL that they have been pretty
> responsive.
>
> Try this link to de-list your Covad IP:
> http://www.barracudacentral.org/rbl/removal-request/67.103.166.5
>
> Parenthetically, emailreg.org is unlikely to prove very helpful if you are
> hosting many sites on the same server (regardless of whether you're using
> alias IP's) since A. the server will only use the primary IP to send email
> and B. emailreg.org handles domains, not IP's.
>
> But again, if you can clean up your IP's reputation with them that ought to
> solve the issue.   If the problem is Covad's dirty blocks, then you may be
> looking for another provider, since they've always been sort of "consumer
> grade" in their ability / willingness to assist in this regard...   Or of
> course you could smarthost relay via a clean IP.
>
> --
> Chris Gebhardt
> VIRTBIZ Internet Services
> Access, Web Hosting, Colocation, Dedicated
> www.virtbiz.com | toll-free (866) 4 VIRTBIZ
>

	

15722_2.html (attatchment)(tag is disabled)