Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Fri, 13 Mar 2009 11:45:13 -0700
From:  "Ken Marcus - Precision Web Hosting, Inc." <kenmarcus (at mark) precisionweb.net>
Subject:  [coba-e:15306] Re: Mails from me...Grrr
To:  <coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org>
Message-Id:  <F9C39250D2AE4FFABBE55BCDEB6D1E0C@OfficeKen>
References:  <002301c9a36c$ea848a80$bf8d9f80$ (at mark) net> <887759.31955.qm (at mark) web65604.mail.ac4.yahoo.com> <002201c9a408$8023e720$806bb560$ (at mark) net>
X-Mail-Count: 15306


----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Paul" <paul (at mark) planetcentral.net>
To: <coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org>
Sent: Friday, March 13, 2009 11:21 AM
Subject: [coba-e:15305] Re: Mails from me...Grrr


>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Dan Kriwitsky [mailto:webhosting (at mark) yahoo.com]
> Sent: 13 March 2009 16:07
> To: coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
> Subject: [coba-e:15303] Re: Mails from me...Grrr
>
>
>
>
>
> --- On Thu, 3/12/09, Paul <paul (at mark) planetcentral.net> wrote:
>>
>> I seem to be flooded recently with lots of emails reporting
>> to be from
>> myself, however not really being from me. An example would
>> be the following
>> header coming into my in-box from my server...
>>
>> One of those wonderful "buy Viagra" mails that
>> pop through every so often...
>>
>> Mail from : admin (at mark) viagra.com [paul (at mark) planetcentral.net]
>>
>>
>> Return-Path: <paul (at mark) ple-communications.com>
>> Received: from ppp-58-8-71-215.revip2.asianet.co.th
>> (ppp-58-8-71-215.revip2.asianet.co.th [58.8.71.215])
>> by www.planetcentral.net (8.13.1/8.13.1) with SMTP id
>> n0K2n26H001003
>> for <paul (at mark) planetcentral.net>; Tue, 20 Jan 2009
>> 02:49:04 GMT
>
> If you accept email from dynamic IP's that's what you get. Any of a number
> of DNSBL will block such IP's.
>
> -- 
> Dan Kriwitsky
>
>
> Thanks for all your pointers guys. Please could someone tell me - has 
> anyone
> tried this process mentioned below, and can advise if it works?
>
> http://www.blue-quartz.com/rbl/
>
>
> Thanks
> Paul
>


That seems like a complex way to achieve what you need.

You could just insert blacklists into your sendmail.cf
I think you need the poprelayd running also.


If you want to try the one I use, just

cp /etc/mail/sendmail.cf cp /etc/mail/sendmail.cf.oldFeb09
wget  http://www.precisionweb.net/sendmail.cf
cp sendmail.cf     /etc/mail/sendmail.cf

/etc/rc.d/init.d/sendmail stop
sleep 3
killall -9 sendmail
/etc/rc.d/init.d/sendmail start



Thats it.



----
Ken Marcus
Ecommerce Web Hosting by
Precision Web Hosting, Inc.
http://www.precisionweb.net