Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Wed, 4 Jun 2008 11:02:54 -0700
From:  "Ken Marcus - Precision Web Hosting, Inc." <kenmarcus (at mark) precisionweb.net>
Subject:  [coba-e:13157] Re: Another Strange Sendmail Error
To:  <coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org>
Message-Id:  <0e2401c8c66d$37a738e0$6601a8c0@OfficeKen>
References:  <772066.26924.qm (at mark) web65611.mail.ac4.yahoo.com>
X-Mail-Count: 13157


----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Dan Kriwitsky" <webhosting (at mark) yahoo.com>
To: <coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org>
Sent: Wednesday, June 04, 2008 8:10 AM
Subject: [coba-e:13155] Re: Another Strange Sendmail Error


>
> --- Richard Siddall <cobalt (at mark) elirion.net> wrote:
>
>> Dan Kriwitsky wrote:
>> > Sorry to f'up to my own post, but here's another example (full headers)
>> to
>> > see if anyone has any idea how this is happening.:
>> >
>> [snip]
>> > Right there in access is:
>> > retail.telecomitalia.it[TAB]REJECT
>> >
>>
>> Dan,
>>
>> Are you sure that is the access file sendmail is using?  Can you change
>> the contents via the BQ GUI, for example?  (I'm assuming that BQ does
>> what the old RaQ GUI did, and edits the files.)
>>
>
> I did not enter the contents via the GUI. I copy the access file from
> /etc/mail/access, download it as ASCII, edit it, upload it as ASCII, copy
> it back to /etc/mail/ and run makemap hash access.db < access.
>
> -rw-r--r--   1 root  root   915043 Jun  4 10:07 access
> -rw-r-----   1 smmsp root  2531328 Jun  4 10:07 access.db
>
> When running tail -f /var/log/maillog I will see go by:
> Jun  4 08:46:35 admin sendmail[18758]: ruleset=check_relay,
> arg1=236-145.chk.adsl.eastport.ru, arg2=82.179.236.145,
> relay=236-145.chk.adsl.eastport.ru [82.179.236.145], reject=550 5.0.0 mail
> from RU no longer accepted
>
> Because I have in access:
> ru[TAB]550 mail from RU no longer accepted
>
> But, I also have:
> ua[TAB]REJECT
> And just now, spam came through from there:
> Return-Path: <ybuw (at mark) bouvetcousin.com>
> Received: from 12-60dabc5bb0af (89.252.2.220.freenet.com.ua [89.252.2.220]
> (may be forged))
> by sub.example.com (8.13.1/8.13.1) with ESMTP id m54DVAo1018485
> for <me (at mark) example.com>; Wed, 4 Jun 2008 08:31:12 -0500
>
> That should have been rejected by SMTP upon connect from *.ua.
>
> It's certainly frustrating. This always worked just fine on the RaQ and
> editing any other text configuration file offline this way works just 
> fine.
>
> -- 
> Dan Kriwitsky
>


Dan

What happens  if you try:

com.ua[TAB]REJECT



----
Ken Marcus
Ecommerce Web Hosting by
Precision Web Hosting, Inc.
http://www.precisionweb.net