Index: [Article Count Order] [Thread]

Date:  Mon, 2 Jun 2008 05:24:38 -0700 (PDT)
From:  Dan Kriwitsky <webhosting (at mark) yahoo.com>
Subject:  [coba-e:13141] Re: Sendmail Access Case Sensitive in BQ?
To:  coba-e (at mark) bluequartz.org
Message-Id:  <66598.46179.qm (at mark) web65601.mail.ac4.yahoo.com>
In-Reply-To:  <002f01c8c474$a0052000$0569a8c0@WORK1>
X-Mail-Count: 13141


--- Jim Scott <jscott (at mark) infoconex.com> wrote:

> I think you need something like the following however I am pretty sure
> you 
> have to  have a feature called lookupdotdomain enabled to support this.
> 
> .adsl.candw.ky REJECT

I have never needed to have "." on the line.
In my access file I have:
charter.com	REJECT
Not .charter.com[TAB]REJECT
and it works fine. (Legit mail from there comes from charter.net I have
found)

Jun  2 07:08:26 admin sendmail[26557]: ruleset=check_relay,
arg1=68-185-224-128.dhcp.slid.la.charter.com, arg2=68.185.224.128,
relay=68-185-224-128.dhcp.slid.la.charter.com [68.185.224.128], reject=550
5.7.1 Access denied

> 
> The reason you are not rejecting the email is because the reject is
> specific 
> to adsl.candw.ky which will match an email address or the exact host.
> Which 
> the machine connecting is 63-136-118-37.ADSL.CandW.ky

And the case insensitive adsl.candw.ky	REJECT should have handled, as it
did for years on my RaQ4. That is why I am asking if suddenly on BQ
sendmail access is case sensitive. Is that a "feature"?

> 
> you can of course just block the IP or the range of IP's if you know you 
> want to reject the ISP from sending email to you from those dynamic IP's
> 

Blocking the domain prevents me having to know IP's because they get new
swip's all the time.

-- 
Dan Kriwitsky